Rummikub FAQs

  • When playing Rummikub when is the end of the round?

    When a player yells “Rummikub” after all their tiles from their rack have been placed on the table.

  • When playing Rummikub do you record a score after each players turn?

    No, scoring is done at the end of the round using only the tiles remaining on your rack. Players who lost total the tiles on their rack and total it as a minus (negative) amount. The winner adds all the tiles from all the players and receives that number as a positive (plus) amount.

  • When playing Rummikub I have four tiles to make a group or run. Do I have to play all of them?

    No. Sometimes it is useful to hold back the fourth tile of a group or run and lay only three, so that on the next turn you can lay a tile instead of drawing from the pool.

  • When playing Rummikub can I take the tiles from the table and keep them for later?

    No. You cannot take tiles from the table and keep them in your hand or on your rack. Like the Joker you must use them on the same turn.

  • When playing Rummikub if I have four or more in a set can I use them to make new sets?

    Yes, You can split sets of groups and runs on the table and use them along with tiles from your rack to make other sets as long as three tiles remain in the groups and runs that you borrowed from. You can only do this after you have made your initial play.

  • When playing Rummikub how many tiles do you need to create a set?

    You must have at least three tiles of the same number — each one in a different color or three tiles with consecutive numbers in the same color. These are called groups and runs.
    Group example (7-77) or (7–777)
    Run example (123) or (1234)

  • When playing Rummikub I have the value of tiles to make my initial play. Do I have to use them?

    No. You can wait as long as you want to make your initial play, but you must draw from the pool on your turn until you play.

  • When playing Rummikub what is the initial play?

    The initial play (also called initial meld) is the first time you place your sets of groups and runs on the table. The first time you play, the value of the tiles from your sets must add up to a minimum of 30 points. If the value of your tiles do not add up to 30 you cannot play until you are able to. This is the ONLY time you must equal at least 30 points during the game.

  • When playing Rummikub if I have taken a Joker from the table can I keep it for later?

    No. Once the Joker is taken, it must be used on the same turn and used with at least one tile from your rack to make a set.

  • When playing Rummikub can I replace the Joker with a tile that is already on the table?

    Yes. The most up to date rules distributed by Pressman sate that the tile can come from the table or from a player’s rack.

  • When playing Rummikub can I take a Joker from the table and use it in my initial play?

    No. You cannot take a Joker from an existing set until the initial meld has been completed.

  • When playing Rummikub is Rummikub pronounced Rummicube or Rummicub?

    We have heard it pronounced both ways and it just depends on where you are from. Here at Pressman Toys we pronounce it like Rummicube.

  • When playing Rummikub does the color of the Joker matter?

    No. Any Joker can be used to complete any set. The color of the Joker tile does not matter when being used. (a Joker is like a wild card in poker, it represents any number or color)

  • When playing Rummikub can I play more than one Joker?

    Yes. Two Jokers can be played at the same time in a single set.

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required